Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Co-education has been a topic of debate for many years. While some people believe that this system is detrimental to the growth of children as it distracts them from studies, I along with others believe that stying in mixed schools inculcate not only the feeling of respect among the peers, but also broadens their way of thinking. On the one hand, some people oppose the mixed school education as according to them this leads to the distraction of students from their studies and hindrance in their career growth. The crucial reason for this is that while boys and girls studying together, they generally get attracted toward opposite gender and indulge in close friendships, which often takes their mind away from academics. As a consequence, their academic grades lower down and they get diverted from the original goals of their life. Therefore, considering the numerous cases of young students running away from homes due to indulgence in love affairs, this education system is not supported. On the other hand, those who believe that co-education is beneficial for the students assert that this way of learning makes the students rational thinkers and educate them to respect the person of opposite gender. This is because when girls and boys study at same platform they often share the workload, eat and play together, and develops a bond of friendship which certainly abolishes the shyness among them and, moreover, boost their level of confidence. To exemplify, a study by the Oxford University states that students studying in mixed schools are more confident as compared to the ones in separate schools. Hence, I also support this view. In conclusion, although some people oppose the co-education system due to its detrimental effect on the studies of children, in my opinion, this way of education is advantageous in terms of their personal development.