Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

In some countries with their own traditional pattern of life, single-sex schools are educating boys and girls separately, while many other countries follow the orthodox view of coeducational schools. Apparently, there are advantages to both as long as they are providing quality education. At the outset, people advocating gender division in schools see the key aspect of freedom at schools. It allows students of the same sex discuss any topic without any hesitation which results in paying more attention to studies. For instance, studying any subjects such as biology, especially human reproduction or any other gender oriented topics are openly and fairly discussed. Hence, in-depth studies with freedom become a reason for better academic results. The other thought, however, supports the idea of co-education because of some benefits. Firstly, confidence is gained while studying together as day to day interaction between boys and girls removes shyness and develops better understanding between them. Secondly, this teaching methodology leads pupils to develop the sense of co-operation leading them to support, study and teamwork. Finally, development of a healthy competition in mixed schools motivates them to strive hard for holding positions in academic results. All these benefits are the tools for preparing boys and girls for their future career when they step into professional lives, where interaction between them will be inevitable. Personally, I like the idea of mixed school and find it the best way of educating boys and girls. I have also experienced studying in a mixed school and find myself completely compatible with the opposite gender and face no problem at work. I think even in eastern countries like Pakistan, the trend of mixed school will continue to grow as it has been realized that co-education is a key to success.