Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Some argue that children of opposite sexes should be educated separately, while others say that it would be more beneficial if they were mixed. While separating students based on their sex helps them improve academically, I believe that mixed schools can help eliminate social awkwardness. On the one hand, some individuals believe that boys and girls should be taught separately because it helps them not to be distracted from their studies. If children are constantly mixed with opposite sexes, they are likely going to be involved with one another because attraction is a human nature and difficult to control. As a result, they would ignore their studies and concentrate more on these social activities. For example, according to the survey conducted by the American Education council, it was found that 60% of the top performing students were from single-sex schools. However, I believe that this view is not justified because many children from mixed schools perform well too. On the other hand, many believe that teaching children in mixed schools is very beneficial for them because it helps to eliminate social awkwardness. Many young adults, who study in single-sex schools develop social anxiety due to minimal interaction with opposite sexes. Mixed schools help in solving this issue and children do not have this fear while growing up. For instance, similar initiatives were carried out in UAE, where single-sex schools are more common, and the results were extremely positive. I believe that mixed schools are more beneficial because they improve a child’s social skills along with his studies. In conclusion, while single-sex schools help to avoid distractions among children, the social skills that they receive in mixed schools is far more beneficial for their development.