Some people think History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

International aid is a voluntary transfer of resources from one country to another. I disagree with the given statement that governments should not give aid to poor countries if there are underprivileged people within their own country. I believe that the developing and developed countries should always step forward to help the impoverished countries. My first argument is that if unemployment and homelessness are the criteria for not giving aid, then there would be no support on humanitarian grounds at all. Some degree of unemployment and homelessness is there even in the most developed countries such as the USA and the UK. If such nations stop giving aid, then there would be no one to help the poverty stricken world. For instance, according to statistics of 2013, nearly 6% people in the USA were unemployed, but aid given by the USA was $30 billion approximately. Even the developing countries such as India have allocated some part of their budget for foreign aid. Secondly, most aid indirectly helps the donor country, such as for resource extraction from the recipient country or to gain some commercial access. For example, the MNCs opened in India as a part of foreign assistance, no doubt, are providing jobs to many youngsters, but in fact is paying them much less than what they have to pay their own country’s employees. Many foreign companies have opened their retail outlets in India because India is a strong commercial market due to its burgeoning population. Therefore, aid works as a win-win situation for both the giver and the taker countries. Furthermore, in emergencies or natural calamities such as earthquakes and tsunamis, all nations should come forward and help. Aid need not be monetary; it can be in the form of volunteer workers or providing goods needed by the affected people. Such help should be given even if there are situations within the nation needing attention. This also strengthens relations between countries. To sum up, I reiterate my opinion saying that all countries should help by giving foreign aid, even if there are problems of unemployment and homelessness within them.