Some people say that History is one of the most important school subjects. Others think that, in today’s world, subject like Science and Technology are more important than History.

There exists a controversy that whether History is the subject that is of paramount importance in school’s curriculum. Many people favor this statement, however, others assert that practical subjects such as Science or Technology have a more important role to play. The two sides of the issue would be discussed as follow and I would like to suggest my own point of view. In the first place, a strong argument could be held responsible for the indispensable part that History is widely thought to be holding in schools. Undeniably, History is a readily available and trustworthy source of historical knowledge, bringing to students the profound comprehension and explanations about their ancestors as well as historic and crucial events such as the origin of their National Independence Day. Without the present of this vital understanding in their minds, students would probably not know why they are existing right now and not appreciate the peaceful life they are unconsciously enjoying. Hence, it could be detrimental for their self-development, which likely leads to the possession of negative characteristics when they enter their adulthood such as disrespect for the elder or taking everything for granted. On the other hand, such realistic and applicable subjects, for example, Science and Technology, are also globally recognized notable in modern life. Since the world is now in a hi-tech era and thriving on the results of scientific experiments, paying close attetion to obtaining the related knowledge is virtually compulsory for every single citizen, especially those who are consistently spending time in schools. In other words, being able to acquire the knowledge in these areas would likely ensure bright career prospects for adolescents nowadays. Therefore, it is understandable and rational for the important place that these practical subjects are owning in schools. For the reasons illustrated above, I personally find both two types of subjects are of equal importance for the sake of students and under a bigger picture, for society. Each one has its own uniquenesses that is here to stay and equips students, the future owners of the Earth, with right manners as well as real-world knowledge and skills.