Some people say History is one of the most important subjects in school. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

The technological advancements in the 20th century have been beyond our wildest expectations, and the phenomena like IT revolution has resulted in evolution of platforms, namely, Facetime, video calls, etc. , that has made face to face interaction possible, even while sitting in any part of the world. Some critics assert that this new way of communication has a damaging effect on the social activity of the people, whereas I completely disagree with this and the essay will outline the benefits of the advanced way of communication. Firstly, the mobile communication has made it possible to have video calls with a person, maybe sitting in another country and it feels like that the person is sitting adjacent to us. In other words, gone are those old days, when we have to wait for years to meet our near and dear ones. Now a days friends, for instance, are creating whatsapp group and do group video calls, consequently their old friendships are intact even, if they are living across the globe. Moreover, due to hectic lifestyle no one has time to visit each other physically, so people with common interests creates a group on social media applications and interact on the fly. Secondly, since the internet has provided certain platforms, where we can meet new people with the same ideology as ours, so the social circle of an individual grows. A good example of this can be the Facebook, it provides facility to create groups like arts club, cricket club etc and stranger joins those considering their common interest, so they meet up and this expands their social circle. Furthermore, some people meeting up through the internet have ended by marrying each other. So, not only friends, it bolsters in building life long relations. To conclude, the new way of communication is lightening fast, thereby reducing the long distance to just a press of a button. It is a more convenient than the old method since it saves lots of time and energy as you do not need to see each other in a conversation.