Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Before reaching a conclusion we must first look at the contributions that knowledge of history and science and technology has made to help us achieve the kind of sophisticated civilization we have now. History has taught us many things. There is no denying in that. History has imparted us with knowledge of our ancestors. Without knowledge of history, we won't be able to appreciate the contributions of our ancestors to make us what we are now today. History is like the hard disk of our beloved earth. Of course a system may run without its long-term memory with the help of short-term memory, however, it can easily be understood that this would seriously hamstring the capability of the system. For instance, if the generations that are to come remain oblivious to or ignorant of the horror of world wars, where will they find the motives to avert another such vicious war. The world without its history would have no means to learn from mistakes that our predecessors have made. History not only prevents us from doing terrible mistakes but also inspires future innovations. Take, for instance, had we not known about Mozart's great music compositions, we would have not had great compositions that were inspired by Mozart's. Science and technology are as important as anything can ever be. If not for science we would still be living in caves. This statement alone can sum up the importance of science and technology. Science and technology have set us apart from other ordinary animals. If we are to sustain for good as a species I would not be wrong to assume it has to be the help of technology. Thus to conclude, I must say history and science and technology are equally important for us to flourish.