Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are important than history.

Academic subjects have a major impact on the student life. It is widely believed that history is a crucial subject in schools as it aids us in understanding different cultures, whereas some people opine that science and technology are the subjects which must be given higher preference because of the technological advancements. This essay discusses both the views before drawing concrete decisions. On the one hand, historical events taken place in the ancient times can help us understand our roots. Furthermore, it will give us a clear knowledge about distinct cultures and traditions across the world. In addition to this, we can understand the various practices followed by the ancient residents, which can prove to be effective in the recent times. For example, the students of the "University of Wales" who have chosen history as their main field have carried out developments in the agricultural practices, according to the Harappan culture's farming methods and it has given magnificent results. On the other hand, some learner's may find history to be a boring subject as it is theoretical when compared to science. As science and technology is based on practical experiments, most of the students find it intriguing. Due to this, they can provide better results in studies. Also, due to the growing population, the insatiable need for technological development also increases. If the students have profound knowledge in this field, it will help them in earning more as well as contributing to the society. To illustrate this, a research conducted by "Science now" magazine depicts that 80% of the students, who selected science as their major got placed in companies with good salaries which provided them with innovative work. In conclusion, history fascinates people in learning different cultures and practices followed in the past. However, it can be a boring subject. From my perspective, science and technology should be considered as the major subject because of the improvements it brings and the innovation it has.