Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

It is often argued about the importance of each subject taught at school. Some believed that history holds more significance over science and technology, whereas some might disagree with that statement. I think that equipping future generations with knowledge of science and technology is more crucial for facing the future. On one hand, learning history is deemed necessary by most people because of the values that we find within it. After studying about the past, future generations could take into account their predecessors' mistakes and use them as a way to improve their future. Furthermore, recorded histories have been proven beneficial as most of the new technology is invented because of said histories. Inventors realized the hardships that humanity had to go through, and they used it as a motivation to make the world a better place by inventing numerous devices. For example, Thomas Edison invented the light bulb with the intention of better lighting to help him study and read books. On the other hand, technological advancement and globalization have made it hard for future generations to survive without sheer knowledge regarding those subjects. Moreover, an expert stated that we must educate ourselves alongside the developments of technology as these developments will continue to happen despite our conditions. Hence, the faster we adapt to technology, the higher chance of success we will have. To illustrate, students who experienced early exposure to technology are said to have a better thought process and cognitive skills, resulting in a noticeably better score achievement than others, despite their socioeconomic situation. I believe that science and technology are far more critical in the future than that of history for numerous reasons, such as the continuous improvement and development of the modern-day times. However, it does not necessarily mean that we should omit history all-together. In conclusion, both subjects have their positive aspects of the future. Studying science and technology will result in better opportunities to succeed and survive in the future, whereas studying history will teach us valuable lessons and possibly prevent past mistakes ever happening again.