Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

In today’s schools, history, science and technology courses are compulsory for students. People hold different ideas about which subject is more important for society today, with some saying that history is one of the most vital units while others say science and technology subjects are more crucial. Personally, I believe both history and science and technology are equally critical. On the one hand, history is an indispensable subject for any independent person and country. In addition to the students that major in history, a technical guy also needs to learn the history of his field. This period revealing the development of technology can be helpful for him to understand more deeply what he is focusing on, rather than a set of equations. For example, the historical evidence supporting quantum physics can help to predict the future of our physical world. As for a country, studying history can give us an idea about what our ancestors did and how they contributed to their countries. By doing so, we can avoid the same disasters that have appeared such as World War Two. On the other hand, there is no denying that science and technology play an essential role in today’s world. The processing of history always accompanies the promotion of science and technology. A historian usually needs to learn some basic knowledge about science and technology, which can help him or her to know more about the connection between history and science. For instance, without the invention of ironware, our artistic culture would not exist. In addition, science and technology are the first productive forces, which is a famous slogan in China. It means that they are necessary for the development of a nation in terms of what it produces. If the citizens find it hard to fill their stomachs, they would be less likely to learn history stories. In conclusion, history and science and technology courses are all key to promoting the people and their countries. They should co-exist in the development of today’s world.