Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Some would argue that history lessons are more important than any other subjects taught in the schools. Others defend that science and technology subjects have a higher priority than history classes. In my opinion, the contributions of science and technology to our lives surpass the teachings of history. History examines the events of the past so one might think that learning from these events will improve one’s life. Thus, to learn from past mistakes and not to repeat them are possibly only by learning history. For example, all the wrong strategic choices during wartime form the battle tactics of today’s military, so that they won’t make the same mistakes again. Therefore, historic teachings have some importance in our lives. However, I believe science and technology are the most important subjects taught in schools because they examine the nature directly, thus shape the future. Through careful experiments we, as a human species, explored the secrets of the universe and use these learning for the betterment of our daily lives. To illustrate, with the improvement of ships in the 15th century, other continents have been found and consequently it completely overhauled the borders of European and Asian countries. In addition, it expanded our choices of consumable goods with coffee, chocolate and corn. Hence, scientific and technological improvements shape how we live. To conclude, although history prevents us from repeating others mistakes, science and technology shape the world around us. Therefore, I believe science and technology lessons in the education system are much more valuable than history classes because they affect our lives much more significantly.