Some people say history is one of the important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

There are differing opinions about the relevance of Science and Technology over the study of our past as a course in our schools. In this essay, I will be reviewing both sides of the arguments as well as providing my own view backed with instances from my life journey. To begin with, the historical knowledge of our past will be very pertinent in avoiding our mistakes in the future. For instance, I learned a lot from the stories of the Nigerian civil war during my primary education that I am very determined to join any cause to extinguish any flames of hatred that can lead to any troubling situation across the country. More so, it has helped our generation to remember and avoid any pitfalls that could lead to any civil unrest. Thus, younger generations learning about their past will ensure a peaceful tomorrow. On the other hand, the digital era has necessitated the need to know Science and Technology in order to advance the cause of humanity in areas such as disease prevention and cure, travel, entertainment, learning and so on. In addition to the above, national and personal economic growths have become big in the recent times due to the technological breakthroughs supported by the learnings of science in schools. It is, therefore, crucial that we continue to educate our kids and help them to be digitally ready to support long term human growth. In summary, I will prioritise the importance of Science and Technology in our school curriculum because it offers the best of both worlds of storing information from the past as well as helping our children jump onto the bandwagon of a digital vision where learning is democratised and opportunities abound for growth in areas such as medicine and wealth creation.