Happiness is considered very important in life, why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness.

It is widely believed that a state of happiness is a crucial one in life. However, it has been a difficult task to ascribe a particular meaning to describe it. In this essay I will be discussing the reason for this and factors necessary to be put in place to attain a state of happiness with relevant illustrations. Generally, happiness is a state of emotional excitement as a result of self actualization and satisfaction of a particular need per time. There are several reasons why it is difficult to define this in specificity. To start with, the meaning of happiness varies per person. Hence, it is individualized. This is because we all have a different need and whatever brings satisfaction and fulfilment to a person defines his own happiness. For example, at a point, passing my final year exam was all I needed to be happy, meanwhile my friend needed to have a successful marriage to be happy. Achieving this needs defined our individual happiness at that point. In addition, happiness is time defined because needs changes per time. sometimes an individual's need might be a house, when achieved it can change to money. Therefore achievement of the timely needs is what brings happiness because that is relevant to the moment. Looking into factors needed to be established to be happy in life, the first thing is goal setting. An individual must be able to define the need of the hour that will bring him desired joy. This will assist in making relevant plans. To illustrate, I discovered even though I have a lot of abilities, I can only derive joy in being a Nurse. I then made plans, asked questions and worked with people in the field. Goal setting helped me to concentrate my energy on this and I achieved it. The second factor which is determination means working against all odds. This particular factor will be the drive in times of challenges. In conclusion, happiness is difficult to define because it is time defined and individualised. Also goal setting and determination are two key factors to be happy in life.