Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

Everybody desires to be happy in life and interestingly the requirements to be cheerful vary from person to person. This is the main reason why defining happiness is not that easy. However, there are some common things that are regarded important to be delighted in life. Defining happiness is quite challenging because the requirements to achieve it is not fixed. While someone dreams that his economic freedom would make him happy, a very rich man dreams about having a caring family to be happy. Similarly, a couple who do not have any child think about having a baby all the time and would be ready to do anything for that. On the contrary, many poor families, mostly in poor countries, find more children to be their burden. The practical world is quite puzzling and the humankind wants more than they have. When a person’s aim or expectation is fulfilled, he wants more and this is a never ending process. This is why happiness is not a simple word that we can describe with a neat and precise definition. However, there are some vital factors that are commonly regarded as the main ingredients to be happy in life. First of all, physical and psychological soundness is very important to be happy and people can truly realise that when they get sick. Economic freedom - ability to fulfil the needs in life, is the second most important factor to be happy, in my opinion. It is often said that being happy with an empty stomach is not possible. Thirdly, having a happy family where members love each other and care for them is considered important to be in peace in life. It is usually rare to find a happy person who does not have a pleasant family. Individual freedom is also considered a great influence to be happy in life. Someone without personal freedom cannot feel the happiness. Most importantly, being contented in life is the key to being happy. If someone can be contented with whatever little he has, he will be happy in life. In conclusion, though there is no easy and precise definition of happiness, common attributes like sound health, caring family, freedom and personal contentment are regarded to be key ingredients to be happy in life.