Book 8Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

In 21st century, the vogue of co-ed schools is rising tremendously where girls and boys receive education together. But is this kind of trend is advantageous for the society or it should be culminated? Although, there is a huge horde of people who discord this notion however there are equivalent number of people who rather strongly advocate it. In this essay, I will shed some light on both the ideas followed by my own opinion about it in the end. To embark upon, the paramount cause of this proposal being disapproved by a particular elite is that at this tender age, opposite sex attract towards each other. Hence, they get distracted from their main goal. For instance, my neighbour' s son Rajesh, a student of tenth standard used to like a girl in his class. Gradually, his fondness turned into desperation which not only depraved him but also compelled him to do certain objectionable activities that resulted in his expulsion from the institution. Thus, this proves the first point that co-ed schools can have adverse effects too. Conversely, deprivation of something may also lead to curiosity and later obsession as well. It is no exaggeration to state that when boys and girls are made to study separately, they become inquisitive indeed, pays even more attention in exploring about each other than usual and waste their precious time. I can reminisce, when I was in school that was only for boys, many of my friends used to rush to the girls school after finishing their own. It was simply because they could not see or talk to them otherwise. Absence of girls made them even more interesting and coveted for boys. Conspicuously, after mulling over both the aspects, I concluded that the benefits of co-ed education far outweigh any negative repercussions. It is due to the reason that it is natural to incline towards the contrary gender at teenage. However, insistence should be given on informing them about the pros and cons of such actions. In fact, parents must encourage their children to achieve their targets first to be successful in life instead of keeping them away from each other.