29. 09. 2017 Happiness is considered very important in lifeWhy is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

Being happy is seen by many as a main purpose of life and yet it is an arduous task to identify it. Below some factors that are deemed to be crucial for achieving the state of happiness will be discussed in details. To begin with, giving a definition to happiness is extremely challenging endeavor because of several reasons. Firstly, each culture and nation has its own, and often strikingly different prospect on the issue. To illustrate, western society often views independence and self-realization as the shortest way of achieving happiness. At the same time, Asian civilization claims that being accepted by family, friends and public establishes a foundation for experiencing the discussed feeling. Secondly, happiness is a subjective concept and each person could feel it in a particular even unusual circumstances. To exemplify, buying a novel automobile is perceived by one individual as a reason for joy but for others purchasing a brand new vehicle means rather worries and expenses. Consequently, defining the feeling is an uneasy endeavor. However, there are some factors that contribute greatly to achieving the state of joyfulness. Primarily, it appears that happiness has a physiological basis and thus becoming a mother, being in love or eating tasty food may be seen as universal factors that are rooted in biology of a human being. Thus, satisfying basic, animal desires is perhaps the shortest and most universal path to happiness. Furthermore, on a subjective level achieving goals that are considered to be worthwhile by the person leads to experiencing bliss. Interestingly, whether a purpose is decent or not depends on one’s cultural and religious background in which an individual spent his formative years. In other words, happiness is achieved by meeting biological needs and accomplishing purposes. To sum up, experiencing happiness is pursued by many but can hardly be defined because an understanding of the feeling is connected with personal experiences as well as with culture in which a person was brought up, however, achieving goals and satisfying bodily desires has a great effect on feeling happy.