Some people think that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food, clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matters that affect them.

According to some people, allowing children to make their own decisions on day-to-day concerns like clothing, food, and enjoyment would lead to a society of selfish people. Whereas, others feel that it is necessary for children to make their own choice about things that matter to them. I agree with the latter view. It could be the case that giving freedom to children to make their own decisions would probably result in a society of selfish people. Such thinking could lead to an attitude where an individual would place themselves first over others. For instance, people would litter in a public place without any care towards the environment just because it is convenient for them. Moreover, giving children who are too young to comprehend the vast complexities of the world might result in them making unhealthy choices that could be detrimental to their growth. However, in my experience, I have observed that generally people learn from their mistakes and tend to overcome any bad decisions they might have made earlier in life. On the other hand, in my opinion, it is essential for a child to make choices in matters that affect them. Not only do they have the right to do so, but also making such decisions at an early age would greatly enhance their decision-making abilities; an important skill demanded in today's workforce. For example, a child who chooses his or her own career path would be much more content with his or her life in the future as there would be no scope of regret. If a parent or a teacher chose their career path, they would always feel that the career isn't something that they wanted to do. Besides, this would also promote individualism; a person making decisions from an early age would be able to form their own ideas and live more independently than one who was constantly guided on what to do. Conclusively, I strongly believe that children should be allowed to make decisions in everyday matters that affect them directly with minimal guidance from their guardians, so that they develop the ability to make good choices in the future.