Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Some people say that letting kids choose on everyday situations (like what to eat, wear or play), would result in self-interested members of society, while others consider that it is crucial for children to have a say about issues that affect them. Although raising a child that way could result in a socialization problem in the future, in this essay I will shall attempt to argue that youngsters should make choices in order to be decisive when adults. Not giving kids the opportunity to decide can be attributed to the fact that it could make them be self-centered. Young minds may misunderstand the right of decision and believe that what they want is all that matters. For instance, in a behavioral research conducted by The University of California was revealed that, around a third of toddlers who decided first what toys to play with, did not let other infants to play with the objects, and this could result in a lack of social skills when they grow up. On the other hand, giving a minor the chance to make ordinary choices could help to create decisive individuals. That is to say, it can contribute to the growth of a strong-minded person, which is a valuable skill in work life. For example, The American Journal of Psychology revealed that, individuals who made daily-life decisions at an early age, like what to wear for school or what to eat at lunch, are prone to pursue careers where decisive abilities are crucial, such as medicine or architecture. In conclusion, despite the fact that letting a child make choices could result in a selfish way of thinking, this essay suggests that youngsters should have a say on everyday issues in order to develop decision-making abilities.