Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the world is evolving at a fast pace and everyone needs to able to be smart enough to handle it. From a very young age, children are taught to become independent and make their own decisions as it will develop their personality. Some people argue that this will make the next generation self-centered and the society will be broken apart. Embarking upon the side encouraging youth to decide for themselves, children after growing up mustn’t feel lost or be indecisive. To ponder upon, although the idea to help children is comforting one, they won’t learn and may face troubles in future as we learn from our own mistakes better. Additionally, deciding for oneself develops our brain at a much faster rate. For instance, according to a study conducted on youth, the teenagers who were less dependent on guardians had shown 30% more organized thoughts and were able to handle themselves in a different new environment better. To look at the opposing side, letting children do whatever they seem to, will make them selfish. To explicate, while youth shouldn’t be dependent, pre-teens doesn’t have a proper understanding of the society and its functioning. Consequently, the choices they make may be under influence of others and harm them. Additionally, doing so may not teach them the value of togetherness in a society; hence the society will not be closely knitted group as it is now. A salient example would be, according to a study in USA, 40% of the children left on their own are less likely to mix up with the culture and likes to be left alone. In a way to conclude, this essay has discussed the views regarding giving a child freedom of making his/her own decisions. While the chances are they will not function well in a group in a later stage, they will be better prepared for future, even a harsh one. From my perspective, the children should be guided and be kept informed on to what extent their choices are appropriate.