Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

These days, children are developing at a pace faster than their parents, be it physically or mentally. While some people argue that children should be allowed to make their own decisions, others believe that by giving children the freedom to choose what they want, they might become egocentric. There are valid views on both sides, which I will discuss now. On the one hand, opponents of giving children the liberty to make their own choices think that they will become self-centred. Indeed, in doing so, these children might believe that the adults around them do not really bother about what they do with their lives. Moreover, Psychologists believe that giving adolescents too much freedom give them a sense of authority and they like to take opportunity of this position. It starts with small situations such as choosing their own food and clothes which can rapidly go over the limit of decency, and eventually ends up with big issues, including mode of entertainment which can involve drug dealing, thefts, smoking, among others. They become so accustomed to making their own decisions, that with time, they do not think about the repercussions on the family and society. For example, in a conservative society, it would be totally inappropriate to wear short skirts and high cleavage clothes and parents might feel embarrassed. On the other hand, supporters of freedom of children argue that they have every right to take decisions about their life. For the former, it is incorrect to force youngsters to dress in a way that they might not feel comfortable. For instance, telling a child to wear a maxi dress when they are clearly not confident is ill-advised. Furthermore, children should be permitted to make their own choice of a career because it concerns their future. Statistics have shown that just over 45% of adults in India are pursuing a career in a field that their parents forced them and out of this, only about 10% are satisfied with their life. Supporters of liberty of youngsters state that youngsters are better informed and educated than people of the past and hence can take wise decisions. For instance, they know that eating oily food will increase their risk of obesity and heart attack, or that eating too much sugar may make them diabetic, so they choose not to resort to such eating habits. In conclusion, I believe that today, youngsters should be given some freedom to make their own decisions depending on the particular situation. However, their parents should guide them through important decisions and make sure they do not make wrong choices.