Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

I believe that having to speak a foreign language in a country is indeed a serious social problems, as well as practical problems. I'm a primary example of how much problem it caused me socially and practically when I moved into France from India for job reasons. Being born and brought up in India and stayed here whole life for nearly 30 years and then one day I was told by my manager that I need to move to France for project work. Honestly, it was super exciting because all my life I had known France through movies or books, also of Eiffel Tower especially and thought of getting to see it live only had been excited like a kid, but it wasn't that thrilling when I moved to France alone. I hardly knew more than 2 words, Bonjour and Merci so in that I just couldn't deal with not being able to communicate with anyone. I couldn't do grocery or any other basic necessary shopping also and I had to always rely on someone to help it might for buying or anything which was just infuriating after a point and that is when I realized how it is necessary to learn a foreign language. Later, I joined French classes and the happiness I had in interacting with someone or understanding what they were speaking gave me joy and another advantage I had was it helped me know French culture more clearly and embrace it fondly. So I do agree that it does cause a problem, but I believe sometimes it might cause too much mental pressure on someone who will be not be interested or also when they might not able to grasp that foreign language quickly during that time it may negative impact on them, which can be avoided if schools start educating their students with one foreign language at least because if kids start learning in tender age then not only they will be able to grasp things easily and they won't forget it easily.