Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems with this statement

Residing overseas and having to converse in a different language than one’s native tongue, can lead to severe social issues as well as everyday challenges. I totally agree with this because it can lead to social isolation and day-to-day difficulties. The main reason I agree is because of the serious issues with social isolation. If a person is unable to effectively interact with local people in the surrounding area that they reside in they are likely to feel isolated. This is because intimate relationships require effective communication and this is extremely challenging when one doesn’t have full command over the language being spoken. This situation can lead to people feeling disconnected from one’s community. In some instances, this may even lead to depression and other mental illnesses that can be destructive to the fabric of society. In addition, not having full expertise over the language spoken in the country you are living in can lead to practical issues. Many everyday tasks assume that you have a know the language. More specifically, instructions for public transportation and other social services are often only provided in the native language of an area. This can lead to challenges in using and accessing services. For example, when I was on holiday in Thailand I found it extremely difficult to understand where ferries were going because the detailed instructions were only available in Thai. In conclusion, I totally agree that having to speak a foreign language leads to issues in the society and day-to-day level. This is because it’s difficult to connect to people in meaningful ways and because many day-to-day services are not easily understood without full command of the language used to describe those services. Therefore, it is strongly recommended to be aware of these issues in advance and to build strategies to deal with them.