Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. with this statement?

Residing in a country where one has to communicate in a foreign language comes with some challenges. Because of the need to speak such language often, there can be some practical, as well as social problems. I strongly agree with this assertion and this essay will elucidate on this. To begin, due to the necessity of conversation in a non native language, there may be some serious problems with socialization. Firstly, building and sustaining relationships, such as, business, friendship and marriage can be very challenging. Language barrier thus causes ineffective communication leading to frequent disagreement. A lot of courtship between the dutch and immigrants, for example, did not lead to marriage, as observed by a magazine recently. Secondly, it is difficult to relax well. One may be discouraged to attend social functions. A good example is the few non nationals present at a comedy show in Togo because the anchor spoke in French. It is very obvious that problems with interaction can come up because of language barrier. Furthermore, practical problems can be experienced; it may be difficult to secure some appointment, as jobs, such as, public relation officer (PRO), where one has to speak mainly local language, will not be available to foreigners. A good example is the stiff competition for few employment slots by immigrants to China. In addition, education can pose some challenges. As teaching is done in the foreign language, most students will find it difficult to comprehend. For example, first year undergraduates of a German school had to study German for a year. Working and studying difficulties can thus accompany living in a country different from ones own. In conclusion, although living in a foreign country comes with some benefits, there can also be some serious problems socially and practically. I strongly opine that this is usually the case. Government, therefore should take steps to minimise them.