Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. with this statement?

It is true that migration to another country where locals do not speak your language poses some serious drawbacks, both socially and practically. Personally, I completely agree with this viewpoint and I will explain why in this essay. Perhaps the gravest issue of living a completely new country is the whole question of day-to-day interactions with the locals, which frequently appears to be the case in many situations. A newcomer might find himself becoming lonely and increasingly isolated as he fails to communicate or interact with local community due to low level of spoken foreign language. A friend of mine, as an example, shared his stories when he set his first steps in America as quite challenging and really unexpected. For these freshmen, the inability to speak an indigenous dialect could lead to serious matters such as being cheated or becoming a joke for others, which potentially leave bad impressions in mind of such new immigrants for a long period of time. Another worrying challenge for settling in another nation is the major issue of discrimination. No matter how hard a stranger might try to sound like a native, local residents definitely identify a freshman from a large crowd without any troubles and make an unjust or prejudicial treatment to him or her. A notice board states that no Chinese are allowed here seems to be a prominent instance of this. Consequently, it could result in sadness, depression and a feeling of guilt for those new people. Although it is sometimes argued that people could reap substantial benefits from living abroad like new cultural insight or better future prospect, these merits appear to be outweighed by severe dangers of racism and harassment. In conclusion, it seems to me that the issues of language barrier and discrimination surpass the possible merits of living abroad.