In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work, some people regard this as completely wrong while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

Children are involved in different kinds of paid jobs in several countries. While some individuals view this act as totally unacceptable, others think it is an essential opportunity for them. In my opinion, this form of employment helps them to gain work experience and knowledge, which will make them more financially responsible in future. The reason why many people believe it is completely condemnable to make young ones to work in order to get salary is that, it exposes them to a lot of danger including the risk of untimely death. This age group are not yet mature enough to fend for themselves on their own and they may get knocked down by moving vehicles on their way to work. This is a common problem they face in a busy place such as Lagos state, Nigeria. A survey done in this region last year by Non governmental organization, Save the children Network, revealed that they are more prone to death while transiting to work than any other part of the population. Hence, it is necessary to discourage paid employment among them to reduce the incidence of untimely demise. The other side of this debate, which I agree with, opine that this type of engagement is a form of experience which culminates into shaping them to become more financially responsible. This is because children are unlikely to squander money that they work for by themselves. Moreover, it can also encourage them to inculcate good saving habits at an early age which might aid their success in future. The story of many business moguls comes to mind in this case, most of their autobiographies available online show that, a good number of them had engaged in one form of paid engagements or the other which helped them to learn financial prudence. In conclusion, while others think that juveniles should not be exposed to engagements where they receive salary due to risk of untimely death, I believe that doing contrary will help them to gain experience which aid good monetary management.