In many countries children are engaged in different kinds of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it a valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What is your opinion?

In many countries, children are doing work for money. Mostly, children are doing part time jobs to support their families financially or to meet their personal day to day needs. There is a section of people who think that children should not be involved in any paid work. But there are other people, who think that employment experience is conducive to children’s learning and development. In my opinion, if a kid is engaged in some kind of work, he will get real life experiences and will become more intellectual and responsible person. There are many points to support my opinion. First of all, children will learn significance and value of money when they will earn with their own efforts. It is very important for children to know how money comes at home and how we can ensure not to waste money. For example, in my childhood I used to think that anyone can get money easily from ATM machine and can buy anything whatever they want. I used to force my parents to bring me expensive toys. It was until I joined a part-time job after finishing my high school and come to know how hard it is to earn money. Likewise, paid work provides opportunities to children to go to their dream college or pursue higher studies. In many countries, education is very costly. Parents can-not afford expenses of higher studies. In this case, children decide to do part-time jobs after finishing their school to support their studies. For example, one of my friend wanted to take admission in one of the prestigious college to pursue his master’s degree. But his parents were not financially strong to support his admission to college. He then, decided to utilise money which he had earned while finishing his school. However, there are children which can have bad motives behind doing paid work. Some of them waste money for their bad habits like smoking, drinking. Some of them even start taking drugs. In this case, employer and parents should keep an eye on children, how money is getting used. To conclude, children who are pursuing any work or job for good intentions like to study or to support their parents, are likely to become more responsible and intellectual. Paid job will give them independence and more learning opportunities.