In many countries children are engaged in different kinds of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it a valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What is your opinion?

Advancement in the alternative energy technology has prompted many countries to adopt this new form of energy, irrespective of their economic status. While there are a few who believe this is detrimental, I beg to differ, as in my opinion alternative energy will help protect the environment while also ensuring sustainable energy. In this essay we will consider both aspects of the argument, before drawing an informed conclusion. On one hand there are people who doubt the benefits of green energy. The central reason behind this concern is twofold, firstly they argue that non-conventional energy is unreliable. The reason for that is the unpredictable nature of wind or sunlight, which happens to the major source of alternative energy. This could adversely affect the energy security of countries which lack these resources. Secondly, they argue about the large area required to set-up solar or wind energy farms. This can jeopardies energy security for small countries, as they would have to rely on imports to meet their energy requirements. For example, research conducted on the long-term feasibility of alternative energy has shown that small countries will have to import at least 40% of their electricity from large neighboring countries. On the other hand, although there are some concerns about green energy, its positive impact on the environment and its cost effectiveness cannot be overstated. This is largely because renewable energy like solar and wind has helped industries reduce their carbon footprint, as they do not have to burn conventional fuel like coal, which is a major source of carbon oxides. A recent study by an environmental protection group has found that adoption of green energy will help us achieve negative carbon footprint, in the process arrest the effects of global warming in 50 years. Also, the advancement in technology has increased the efficiency of alternative energy, which has resulted in reduced cost of production as larger amounts of energy can be produced from a small energy farm. It is believed that in a decade the cost of renewable energy will be far less than of conventional energy, prompting greater adoption. From the aforementioned arguments and examples, I firmly believe that the positive impact of green energy far outweighs its negatives. I am certain that alternative energy will fuel the economic growth of the modern world while ensuring protection of the environment.