Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. with this opinion?

It is true that numerous languages are disappearing in every year due to the greater influence of international language. Even though this phenomenon creates negative impacts on society, I am of the opinion that it makes life far easier and more convenient in much broader ways. To begin with, communication of people from different nations would be much more easy and effective, if there are fewer languages. A case in point is that people do not need to learn new vernacular languages of others as well as never face the difficulties of the language barrier. This would result in an increase in people’s basic ability to socialise and interact with each other on a day-to-day basis. For example, it is often the case that people communicate with foreigners through the social network with the only help of English language, which is considered as the international language and they also share their views and ideas that are global in scale. In addition, this trend cuts down social and cultural discrimination among people to a great extent as the majority of them use a common language in order to maintain the social relationship irrespective of country, race, religion, economic status and so on. For instance, in England, there is a little social-status difference among English people, whereas Indians show remarkable social, cultural and religious discriminations owing to a large number of local languages for each state. However, there is another line of thought that, it destroys traditional art forms of entertainment, which are predominantly based on local language and culture. To make it more clear, people cannot enjoy the performing art forms of a place, if they are not familiar with vernacular language so it is vital that government should take measures to prevent further deteriorating effects. In conclusion, fewer languages always help to improve communication process across the world and foster community spirit and unity among individuals, despite some detrimental effects on local art forms and cultures.