Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

In our modern society, the question whether fewer languages in the world are better and easier for our daily life has been widely discussed. A fair portion of people believes that it is important to keep as many languages as we can, while others hold the opposite point of view. As for me, I side with the former one. First, different languages present their own history and culture. For example, the Chinese language is similar to the one used in the old times. Although China has thousands of years of history, since the language has been exited all the time, it is not hard to understand our history and culture well. Once the Chinese language dies out, people who speak other languages, such as English and French, would not know what Chinese festivals holidays celebrate for, and what the meanings of all architectures in Forbidden City. In this case, languages are the crucial way to learn culture and history. Therefore, we should keep the diversity of languages in the world. Second, if only a few languages are used in our world, we would lose numerous precious of knowledge written in certain languages. For instance, if English, French, Spanish and Chinese become the only four languages using in the whole world, it is impossible for people to understand well about how to make Japanese tea, and how to cook Japanese and Korean food, such as sushi and kimchi. It might be convenient and easy for people to communicate in our daily life by using only a few languages. However, if it happens, we would only know less information written by a limited number of languages. In conclusion, we should try our best to keep as many languages as we can to prevent culture and knowledge lost.