Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the countryside.

These days, traffic congestion in many cities is indeed a major problem. In fact, according to a report, many countries across the world, lose a great amount of productive time due to clogged city roads. This coupled with rapidly increasing urbanization, the situation is expected to even worse unless acted upon. Therefore, I completely agree that people should be encouraged to live in areas with lesser population density. In this essay, I shall explain the reasons for my agreement with the given statement and provide necessary examples as required. To begin with, many cities across the world were built in the times when people used to commute to work by foot. However, the situation is quite different now, as many businesses have relocated their operations further away from urban centres, forcing people to commute to a longer distances than ever before, thus causing gridlocks. In the USA, for example, an average worker spends about ten days worth of time in traffic jams, which otherwise could be used for different purposes. Next, in many cities, due to centralised living, the city administration faces numerous problems related to transportation, particularly, during desperate times. However, this would not a case if the population is spread across the region. To explain, during emergency, patient transport can become difficult if roads are congested. As an example, in India, on the average speed of an ambulance is about 22 kilometres per hour, whereas, in Singapore, it is around 100 as the country restricts population density. In conclusion, as explained above, it is always recommended to decentralise communities in cities so that transit and transportation can be solved. Hence, I completely agree with the given statement and would recommend the local bodies to adopt the best practises from the globe while drafting their planning for the future.