Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or countryside.

The number of cars on the roads is increasing every day. Traffic and transportation issues are a growing concern in every major city. Many people believe that in order to solve traffic and transportation woes people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in the suburbs or countryside. I strongly disagree with this statement. In my opinion, there are several other ways to solve this issue. Firstly, encouraging people to live in the cities may have a detrimental effect on the population and environment. Overcrowding of the cities is a major issue in the world today. Also, cities are expensive and people may not have the funds necessary to reside in the city. Lack of good public transportation facilities is the prime reason for traffic congestion in cities, because this encourages people to use their own vehicles. In addition, poor traffic co-ordination especially during peak hours, repairing of roads and other problems slow vehicular movement. The government and civic authorities should increase the frequency of their public transportation services. In order to ensure public convenience and satisfaction, services should be scheduled in a timely manner. It is also important to ensure the quality of roads and to eliminate bottlenecks which hamper traffic flow. Organizations should provide transport facilities for staff who travel long distances. Carpooling is the best way to mitigate traffic woes and individuals should be encouraged to do this. To conclude, there are a number of solutions to traffic and transportation woes. The government and the people should work hand in hand to combat this issue.