Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

There are various views of people on upbringing, their children. Talking about competition, some say that it must be inculcated in children while some argue cooperation plays a better role. In this essay, both these contrasting views will be discussed and a conclusion will be made. Those who believe that competition is necessary to present the following arguments. Firstly, competition motivates the children and encourages them to do better rewarding the one who stands at the top. Secondly, healthy competition maintains the excitement and zeal in learning. Otherwise, children may find the session too boring. Thirdly, these are places where competition is of utmost necessity. For example, in sports, it is always necessary to come to a conclusion on who wins and who loses. According to the opinions given by this group of people, positive competition among children is more beneficial. On the other hand, some highlight the negative impacts that competition might bring and so choose to inculcate cooperation in their kids. According to them, when kids compete, they might use alternative ways for winning like cheating. Sometimes, they might be highly de-motivated if they are constantly losing despite persistent efforts. In contrast, by working or learning cooperatively in groups, children learn attributes as respect, exchange of help, tolerance, etc. They also opine that the lessons learned in childhood lasts for the entire life and the children who always compete would do so for the rest of their lives and this would include both the positive and negative competitions. Thus, in accordance with my view, both cooperation and competition are essential for children in their own place. The guardians have to choose one appropriately according to the situation and context in order to ensure their kids learn correct moral values and ethics.