Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Nowadays, there is a school of thought advocating for the fact that children should have competitiveness among them while others argue that it is better for them to learn to work together. From my personal view, it is best to balance these two characteristics as they have their own advantages. On one hand, competitions help boost development in children. As a human, we all want to be superior compared to our peers. With this mindset, the children would try their best to achieve victory by practicing hard, developing and this will be beneficial to them. Moreover, at the right amount, competitions may also teach children to respect others and accept failures which will be valuable in their future lives. Studies show that children who are exposed to failures at an early age are more capable of putting up with depression, anxiety and more likely to succeed later in adulthood. On the other hand, I can understand arguments against competitions. The main reason is that this can sometimes lead to unreasonable hatred between children and that they should learn to collab with each other and there are also benefits to be seen. For instance, cooperation leads to better teamwork skills and these are extremely essential in their later lives. Additionally, working together help children to control their emotions better and learn to interact with others more properly. In my opinion, however, it is best to combine and teach children both competing and cooperative skills at the same time as they will help them develop more thoroughly both interpersonally and intrapersonally. To conclude, there are reasons why kids should learn to compete with each other and while some argue that it is better for them to do the opposite, I believe that a decent amount of both characteristics to be developed for children will do them best.