Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Currently, the issue of children’s upbringing lies at the heart of major societal concerns. While it is considered by some that rivalry could be beneficial for juveniles, I support the view of those who claim that cooperation skills are of paramount importance. On the one hand, some people might argue that a sense of competition motivates children and teaches them to be self-responsible. In fact, competition inspires one to prove their intelligence or strength owing to respectable recognition at the end, namely great scores, new records or trophies. To exemplify, all the tournaments in the world are based on the spirit of rivalry as it encourages people to demonstrate their incredible abilities. As for self-responsibility, competition teaches children to be responsible for their own actions. A reason for that is a lack of external support during a rivalry, such as an advice from parents or a team. Hence, if children participate in myriad competitions, their sense of motivation and self-responsibility will be enhanced. On the other hand, I am certain that cooperation abilities are much more sufficient than competitions. In my view, it will help children to adjust to their life in future. To illustrate, more than 80% of companies all over the world are divided into departments, the latter are structured into teams whereas teams are divided into groups. This means that children all the time will work in a surrounding of a few team members and, therefore, children must know how to interact with them. Cooperation teaches minors how to communicate with others, to resolve disputes or why team work is essential. Thus, coworking educates children with basic working skills, thereby increasing their chances for successful adaptation at work in the future. To summarise, some stipulate that a spirit of rivalry teaches juveniles with self-responsibility and provides them with motivation. Nevertheless, I am inclined to believe that cooperation overcomes a sense of competition since it is a vital component of children’s further adjustment to life.