Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Nowadays, there is a common debate among the people regarding 'Competition' and 'Cooperation'. They are always in a dilemma of choosing what is best for their children. While some people argue that we need to inculcate cooperation among children, others consider that it is beneficial if there is a spirit of competition rather than cooperation. In my opinion, I believe that competing behaviour will make them more successful. Looking on the bright side, helping children to cooperate with each other in accomplishing the task is largely fostered these days. Team collaboration is much more accepted than competition. Moreover, cooperation has the ability to improve the helping nature among the children. Also, it inculcates habits like following instructions, sharing the tasks, not feeling overwhelmed with success or depressed by failure. It helps them to be accountable, for example, cooperating improves respect towards job and co-workers which makes them responsible adults. On the flip side, the kind of healthy competition may help to build children's self-confidence, while pushing them to work independently and progress more quickly. When these children leave school, their confidence and determination will help them in competitive situations. Furthermore, one important benefit of competition is a boost to innovation. Therefore, develops decision making skills and emotional control at a very young age. It helps them to focus on instruction rather than assistance, and inquisition rather than acceptance. In conclusion, the reason why people encourage cooperation can be understood in a wider view, but deeply both the competition and cooperation are doing equally well. In my view, considering both the positive and negative impacts, if children are nurtured properly to deal with success and failure, taught about respect towards work and people, they are likely to achieve their goals as adults with a competing behaviour.