Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

The debate whether it is beneficial to encourage competition in childern, as opposed to teaching them to be a better team player has become a matter of discussion for many. Personally, I believe cooperation skills are much more important and should be encouraged. In this essay, I shall examine both points of view and outline the advantages and disadvantages of each. On one hand, there are benefits of the competitive nature among childern. Firstly, it acts as a main driving force behind the motivation to achieve the bigger goals. For example, a recent study conducted at Stanford university showed that students are more likely to score higher grades in the presence of competition compared to when it is absent. Secondly, this motivation could help childern to make better and more ambitious career choices, as they try to become better than the competition. On the other hand, team player and cooperative skills also play a vital role. For example, many studies have shown that childern who learned such behaviour at an early age, prove to be more successful in their career. In addition, by focusing on personal development rather than competing and trying to copy someone, childern could further improve their own skills. In conclusion, from the given arguments and examples it is clear that both views hold strong ground. However, I believe that it is an unjust affirmation to encourage the competitive nature in childern at a young age, as there are many concrete studies supporting the cooperative nature as a more beneficial option. In the future, we could only expect to see improvements, if both parents and schools encourage a healthy and nurturing behaviour in childern.