Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

It is often argued that children should be motivated to be more competitive, while others feel that cooperation is a more important value to instill in youngsters. This essay will discuss both these views, before coming to the conclusion that they are equally valid. It is important that young people are pushed to be the best they can possibly be, in whatever pursuit they take part in. This drive to win boosts their work ethic and teaches them that hard work and discipline are the keys to success. For example, it was shown in a recent study by Queen’s University that students who won something in sports before they reached the age of 14, were 42% more likely to go on to third-level education than those who did not. Despite this, the development of a child requires not only a will to win, but also lessons on the value of teamwork. Working as part of a team strengthens our empathy, selflessness and make us more responsible toward others. If one were to want to win at the expense of those around us, it is likely that we would alienate our peers and become detached from any team we operate in. For example, Michael Jordan was often criticised by his coaches for being too competitive in practice and overly critical of his team mates and he had to change for the sake of his team. In conclusion, our young ones should be taught to try their best to achieve their goals, but this should also be balanced with the importance of working with others. Both are equally important and will result in a more balanced young adult.