Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Among parents and educators, there is a heated debate about what is more important to teach to children- how to compete or co-operate. Although both sides present convincing arguments, I strongly believe that both are equally vital to shape a mature adult. Supporters of cooperation indicate two main reasons why it is so crucial. Firstly, teamwork is an absolutely necessary requirement for many occupations. For instance, in the healthcare setting, if doctors, nurses and other healthcare professionals did not support each other, patients would not receive the best possible care. In addition, the cooperation in this work environment seems to increase job satisfaction of multidisciplinary team members. Secondly, the input from the number of experts would be of paramount importance for any breakthrough discoveries. This is due to extremely narrow specialization in many scientific fields. For example, the creation of bionic limbs, especially arms, has included the substantial contribution from surgeons, neuroscientists, biophysicists and engineers. On the other hand, many argue that children ought to be primarily taught how to compete. First of all, competition forms the bases for the survival of humankind. This is owing to the fact that the supply does not meet the demand in plenty of situations in adult life. To illustrate this, in many sectors, fewer job positions are available compared to the number of candidates applying for them. Moreover, fair competition might provide motivation for new developments. Seeing a company which achieves success could motivate the manager of the other one to search for better ways of running the business. In conclusion, I think that cooperation and competition are complementary and equally important competencies to be taught at school. Both of them are necessary to benefit not only the society but also the individual.