Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co operate rather than compete become more useful adults

While a sense of competition is essential to thrive in today’s dog eat dog world, many people think to become an useful adult, children should be taught to cooperate rather than compete. This essay will discuss both these views and will give a clear opinion on the same. Personally, I believe it is imperative that we impart a sense of competition in our children. In these stressful times where we have unemployment on the rise, a sense of competition of being the best, will certainly help the child achieve more in life. It is this zest of being the best which pushes him to never give up. By instilling such a mental attitude, the child can go a long way ahead in his life. This frame of mind will not only help him in his childhood but also in his adulthood. Parenting in such a way is commonly known as ‘Tiger Parenting’. Such kind of parenting has serious detrimental effects on the child. Although, parenting in such a way, may help the child this inadvertently puts tremendous pressure on him to perform. This can lead to dangerous consequences, from having a poor mental attitude to being an insubordinate child to having a serious mental disorder. A balanced way out of this would be where the child is taught to be cooperative and helpful to others, and at the same time be proficient enough to be the best in class. Such an intricate balance is sometimes difficult to maintain, but none the less should never discouraged. To conclude, I agree with the statement, that a sense of competition needs to be taught to children to help them succeed in life.