Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Although it is often thought that more sporting facilities should be made available in order that the populace of any society have better health conditions, others believe that some other approach will be more effective. In my opinion, there will not be any improvement to public health unless more practical actions are taken. On the one hand, better health of members of the public is guaranteed if there are lots of exercising facilities available and accessible to them. There are more people than the facilities in gyming centres and if everyone will be encouraged to engage in body fitness activities, there has to be enough facilities for them. Also, as people, we generally like to have alternatives from which we could make our choices. In the end, the use of all the sporting equipments will bring out the activeness in people and benefit the society. On the other hand, other people opine that the increase in available facilities will be inconsequential and I agree. This is because most of the available facilities in fitness centres are underutilized. Instead, more practical steps may prove to be more impactful for public health. Firstly, awareness to the general public on the need and importance of participating in sports may be a more effective approach. Secondly, exercises are not the only means for attaining great health, healthy feeding are also a great way. There could therefore also be emphasis on this because not all people would eventually be able to engage in exercises even though there are lots of facilities accessible to them. For example, workers with very tight schedule or persons with some sort of physical disability may be restricted in some way. In conclusion, while there are very opinions on the best way to improve public health, I believe that some more practical measures should be taken.