Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Public health, a major concern for governments and people, has been a matter of many controversies in recent years. While it is believed by some that providing more sports facilities is the best means to guarantee good public health, others argue that this is not the best solution and other measures yield more positive effects. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my own opinion On the one hand, many opine that the provision of more sports facilities is the best way to ensure enhancing public health. Not only does this reduce the high costs of using sports facilities, but it also would make them highly accessible to the public. It is the expensiveness of sports infrastructures that hinders many from regular usage of them. Were more sports facilities provided, the increased supply would make them more economical, making people more willing to use them. Moreover, being far from these facilities, many people find doing sports time consuming and enervating. Furnishing people with more of these facilities would significantly increase their accessibility, encouraging more people to use the facilities more often. On the other hand, many opine that a high-quality healthcare system plays a more significant role in terms of the betterment of public health. Though regular physical exercise is a great way to fight against some diseases like diabetes and high blood pressure, there are myriad illnesses that require much more than doing sports. Take diarrhea as an example that exercising can by no means help cure it. Vaccination campaigns, medical check-ups, and health education classes, cost-effective and easily managed solutions, can yield a better result. Polio, one of the deadliest diseases in the world, for example, has been fully eradicated by vaccination. Furthermore, since society comprises of many different age groups from infants to seniors, it is not possible to ensure the participation of all of them in sports. In conclusion, although the provision of more sports facilities might encourage more individuals to do physical exercise by offering more accessibility and affordability, I do believe that ensuring a high-quality healthcare system plays an indispensable role in terms of enhancing public health.