Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Health is considered as the uttermost crucial element in people's lives and no country can ever dream to prosper if its citizens have a poor health condition. Every year government spends billions of dollars to recuperate public health of the country. Some people think that government can actually save moolah by investing in building sports centres rather than squandering annually on medical supplies while others argue that it would make little difference. Prevention is better than cure and it is indisputable that many diseases that people are suffering these days are due to an unhygienic lifestyle that people are embracing these days. Lack of physical activity added to extreme work stress and junk foods are making people more and more vulnerable to diseases like blood pressure, diabetes and depression and its medications aren’t cheap either. It is evident that huge sum is reimbursed for treatment of these diseases. If the government opens sports centres and people take up a healthy habit of doing physical work out there, not only it will make them immune to these diseases but they will also thrive both professionally and personally as a healthy body is superior to unhealthy one any day. However, the mere concentrating on sports centres to improve the health condition is not far from its fair share of controversy and critics either. Many disputes that it is only one aspect of possible many to the uplift health status of the country and snuggling it while completely overlooking others won't be of any use. For instance, people living in rural parts of our country do physical work all day and yet they do have a poor health condition. Lack of proper medical facilities, health awareness and malnutrition is leading to the untimely death of many by a simple disease like diarrhoea in places like Jajarkot and Ropla every year. Now policy of setting up sports centres there while ignoring the real issues would not be anything more than a parody.