Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

There are those who claim that the best way to uplift public health is through adding more sports facilities. However, others say that this would produce few effects on public health and that other alternatives are needed. These views will now be discussed and I will give my opinion at the end of the essay. Some people believe that having a lot of sports facilities is the best way to improve public health. They think that with the availability of these recreational facilities will shift the attention of people from doing drugs and/or other detrimental vices to sports, which is also a form of exercise. In our community, for instance, members of the local council in cooperation with youth sector proposed the constitution of a gymnasium was finished early last year. It became the venue for different events not only within our community but also the neighbouring community. Since the construction of the sports facility, the local health station reported a significant decrease in clinic visit of the locals. On the other hand, other people think sports facilities will have a little effect on public health and that other measures are needed. They believe that there are activities that are more effective and more important, health programs for example. For them, having an activity that everyone can participate in is more effective than building more sports facilities. Perhaps activities, like conducting a daily exercise or helping the local health department in locating ill people within the community, would be a greater help. As for my experience, I was once a volunteer in our health station wherein we do look for people in the community needing health attention and we refer them to the municipal health office for evaluation and treatment. In conclusion, I think both views are of great help in improving public health. We, the residents, to the best of our ability should cooperate and help our community leaders in improving public health.