Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

The government has a vested interest in the mental and physical well-being of its citizens. In the recent years, there is an increased spend by Government to improve the sports infrastructure to encourage people to stay healthy. But, it can be argued that providing sports facilities alone will not be enough to motivate the people to stay fitter but other incentives are required to make the people stay fit. This essay analyses the benefits of Government actions to promote public health and suggests other methods that can be employed to improve them. Firstly, physical and psychological benefits created by sports activities contribute to a better healthy body. Regular practice of games like badminton and basketball increases the heart rate and burns the deposited fat from the body that in turn can help improve the health of the individuals. Furthermore, engaging in games can improve the concentration and relieve stress accumulated at the workplace. Thus, sports-related activities help the people in leading a healthy lifestyle. However, the bigger challenge for the Government is to create awareness about the health and instil interest in their mind to engage in sports-related activities.   Creating sports facilities in several places of cities may not generate a lot of interest among the public to use them. They have to create awareness campaigns and incentivise the sports facilities so that the general public can appreciate the benefits of using them. It can be achieved by advertisement campaigns and special prizes for good attendance. In conclusion, Government should aim at creating a healthy society by not only creating sports facilities but also encourage public to use the facilities. I strongly believe that Governments following the above-mentioned actions will lead to a healthy society.