Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

With the advent of IT revolution, in the 20th century, the lifestyle of present generations is sedentary, owing to the nature of work they do, like mostly sitting in front of computers for almost half of the day. So, to keep your fitness level high one must burn fat by doing some exercise or outdoor activities. Some critics assert that governments should invest more on outdoor games, whereas another section argue that there are other various ways to improve the physical fitness. Both of these methods, has their own advantages which will be discussed in this essay and it will be concluded with an opinion. One of the prominent reason why masses believe that by playing sports such as football, tennis, the unwanted calories are burnt very quickly, while enjoying the sports. In other words, having fun activity along with the benefits of improving fitness can easily attract the present generation. In a community park near my home, for example, I see children play footballs daily and they will definitely have a better staminas and strength. Moreover, these classes of activities reduce engagement of adolescent with the laptop or mobile games, which has a damaging effect on the eyes and brain. However, such rigorous games require extra time from your daily routine, so they cannot involve all segments. On the other hand, the public authorities can invest to build a well connected public transport system, so that office commuters as well as the general public can use it for daily commuting, as a result majority of the population will be involved with some level of physical activity in their routine, which means no need to devote extra time for exercise. For example, referring to the latest WHO report on comparison of health standards across the world, the life expectancy in Japan is higher, because 95% of the people use public transport rather than the personal cars. Moreover, this will reduce the air pollution and make the environment cleaner, consequently everyone can breathe fresh and cleaner air, thereby bolstering the better health standards. To conclude, the superior way to engage the community for better health standards is not by encouraging them to involve in sports, but investing better in public infrastructure mainly, transport which can target wider age group.