Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Some people would argue that one of the best ways to improve people's health is to provide them with a number of sports facilities, while others say that this will have a little impact on public health and that alternative methods are needed to improve their health. Although a number of sports facilities will attract many people, I believe that an awareness campaign by the government will be more helpful to turn people into healthy citizens. On the one hand, setting up more sports centre will increase the number of footfalls in these places. That is to say, if there are many sports centres, numerous people will visit them on a regular basis, and will gradually include this in their daily routine. Also, they can motivate their friends and relatives to accompany them which will help them to stay away from a sedentary lifestyle and turn into healthy individuals. To illustrate, a recent survey by the Times of India revealed that 55% of people were free from lifestyle diseases when they joined a gym in their local area. However, I believe that some people tend to misuse these facilities and consider it as a meeting point with their friends and therefore, they do not exercise. On the other hand, a publicity campaign by the government can be more effective in turning people into healthy citizens. In other words, the campaign will highlight the importance of a balanced diet which is essential for the growth and development of the human body. As a result, people will stay away from fatty foods and consume nutritious food, making them slimmer and fitter than before. For instance, the initiative "Healthy India Fit India" taken by the Government of India has encouraged more than 65% of people to eat and drink healthy food, turning them into fit individuals. I believe, this school of thought is preferable to me because when people hear and see these campaigns, again and again, they will realize the benefits of having a balanced food and start following them. In conclusion, although increasing the number of sports facilities could be the best solution to make healthy as it will draw a lot of individuals, other measures such a publicity campaign by the states will be more impactful to make people healthy.