Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Some would argue that increasing the number of sports facilities in the country will improve people’s health, while others say that it will not have much effect and other means should be implemented. While inclusion of more sports grounds will certainly make them more accessible to the public, I believe that people need to be motivated in order to utilize such facilities efficiently. On the one hand, increasing the number of sports facilities will save people’s time and allow them to exercise more often. One of the biggest excuses that people have for not performing any fitness activity is the lack of time, either due to their school or office. If the facilities are located closer to an individual’s home or workplace, he is more likely to use them. For example, big tech companies like Microsoft and Amazon have installed gyms for their employees at their workplace, and this has led to a decrease in health problems among the staff. However, I believe that sports facilities alone cannot improve public well-being because majority of people consume junk food and ignore their long-term effects on their health. On the other hand, it is thought that opening more sports facilities will have minimal effect on public health because people are not motivated to use them. In today’s fast life, people tend to prioritize other personal commitments over their health, and opening more facilities is not going to change their mind. For example, a recent survey conducted by the American Health Association found that only 30% of people use the gym facilities in their building. I believe that motivating the general public, by different means such as public awareness campaigns, is a far better option. In conclusion, although opening more sports facilities is good for the people, it does not solve the underlying problem of demotivation, and that is why other measures like public awareness campaigns might be a more viable option.