Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

It is often argued that expanding the number of leisure amenities is the most appropriate way of boosting the health of the general public, while others feel that this is not a viable solution and believe other steps are needed. This essay will argue that sports complexes are not the best answer and education is a more suitable option. Firstly, it is understandable that sports play a fundamental role not only in preventing diseases such as diabetes, obesity and high blood pressure but also in the treatment of them. For example, individuals who practice sports regularly significantly decreased the incidence of obesity by about 25%. In addition, sports facilities are places of social activities which in turn enhance the psychological condition of people thus protecting them from diseases related to stress such as depression and anxiety disorders. Lastly, improving the fitness of the individuals particularly youngsters will increase the productivity of the society besides improving the public health. Undoubtedly, increasing numbers of leisure centers will positively influence the public health. However, establishing more sports centers and maintaining all of them are expensive and it does not guarantee the participation of all community members. Undoubtedly, to increase public health, the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about the importance of staying healthy. This could take the form of printed advertisements and social media telling people why they should stay away from sedentary lifestyles and be engaged in sports activities. To illustrate, a similar initiative in Japan resulted in a 56% increase in the number of residents who were involved in physical activities on a weekly basis. I believe that this sort of education is preferable because it encourages people to live more actively. To conclude, I wholeheartedly welcome the idea of establishing more sports facilities for community members as these amenities are very useful for a healthy society. I also believe that other measures along with this initiatives are required to build a healthy nation.