Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Health is a major cause of concern for many in current times. Various people believe that public health could be improved by increasing the number of sports provisions, however others believe that other solutions are also required. In my opinion, the increase in the number of sports provisions would have a tremendous positive impact on public health. This essay will discuss both the view points. Increasing the number of sports facilities in an area has an immense positive effect on the health of people. As people have access to amenities and facilities like play grounds, gyms, swimming pools, they tend to be less lethargic and more active in their daily lives. It not only has an impact on physical health, but also has a positive impact on the mental health of people. By going to such places, people interact with each other, thus it gives a boost to their social life as well, which reduces stress level and improves health. A recent research by the Times Of India has shown that seven out of ten people, living in societies with good sports facilities have no signs of mordern day diseases like high blood pressure or diabeties. Although improving and increasing the sports facilities is important, other measures such as reducing the cost of hospitalisation and medicine should also be considered. The cost of hospitalisation and medicine is steeply increasing and it is important that the policy makers must consider the ways to reduce the same. It negatively impacts people and creates unnecessary stress and pressure over the person who is ill along with their families. The research done in 2018 by the WHO has shown that the cost of hospital bills has doubled in the last ten years. In conclusion, better and more sports facilities for people will improve overall public health and there will be comparitively less people falling sick. Though, reducing the hospital cost and bill is important but in my opinion if people will fall less sick by being active then the other solution may not even be needed. Healthier people create a healthy and a happy world and we all must strive for it.