Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sport facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required

It is argued by some people that the improvement of the sport amenities is the finest way to improve health of society. While others say that other laws are mandatory as previous statement would have a small impact on public health. In my opinion, although enhanced sport facilities helps to improve people’s health, taking other measures such as prohibition of smoking is a better solution. On the one hand, enhanced sport facilities help in improving public health by reducing obesity related problems. This is because when sport centres are upgraded with the new equipment, it draws peoples attention so that more public show interest in using those facilities thus leading them to exercise. As a result, they will have less chance of getting overweight related problems such as heart attack, blood pressure, and diabetes. For example, a research conducted by the John Hopkins University in Denmark found that after the upgrade of the Denmark city sport centre a decade ago, it saw a spike in the number of people using the facilities, therefore the city recorded a less number of obesity related problems compared to other cities since then. However, I believe that other steps such as ban on smoking is required to improve health of teeming populace. On the other hand, other steps such as ban on smoking will have more impact than improving sport equipment because it will lessen the impact of smoking related problems in everyone. This is to say that the prohibition of smoking not only save health of people who actually smoke, but also the passive smoker health when active smoker smoke in public thus reducing smoking related problems such as cancer and heart attack. For instance, a research conducted by the Health Department of India found that 70% of cancer cases reported last year are the result of smoking, of them 50% are active smokers and 20% are passive smokers thus having ban on smoking would have saved them from cancer. In conclusion, even though enhanced sport facilities improve people wellbeing, taking other measures such as ban on smoking is a more preferable option because it will have more positive impact on society.